Heart Revolution


NEW YEAR’S BLOG

A post due on the first day of the new year. Unfortunately, it took me twenty-six days to finish this and coincidentally, I am posting this on the first day of the Chinese New Year [Kung Hei Fa Choi]. Doesn’t speak so much of the change I wanted to do this year. Unacceptable.

Let me share a brief story of the revelations, messages, desires, goal, and plans I have for the New Year.

DISCLAIMER: PERSONAL NOSEBLEED REVELATIONS AHEAD, perhaps boring, BUT THOUGHT PROVOKING and HEART TOUCHING.

As a fellow brother once told me, “Don’t make New Year Resolutions! Don’t focus on changing your habits, change your Heart, START A REVOLUTION.” One hurting truth at one end, and a liberating truth at the other end. Sadly, New Year’s Resolution doesn’t really work. If it does, then the world would be a better place. The primary reason: change brought by resolutions are only “habits deep”. It only cuts the branches or the stems, but leaves the root untouched [unchanged]. After a few weeks or months, the stem grows again, and so does our habits. Therefore, desire and work for a change of heart, one that deals with the roots. Ask God to put on a new heart. With Jesus on your side, embark on a fresh start.

Heart revolution: Start a rebellion against the things in your heart that rebels against God.

“For I am about to do something new. See, I have already begun! Do you not see it? I will make a pathway through the wilderness. I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.” Isaiah 43:19 (New Living Translation)

“Start Right, Start with God.” This is the most striking message I received on New Year’s Day and this will be my self-pushing, self-motivating, and God-seeking statement I will hold on throughout this Year. Among others, HOLINESS, SEEKING GOD, and DISCIPLINE are the most outstanding characters that I desire to develop this year. All by God’s grace and through the Holy Spirit.

HOLINESS. Such an impossible word. Deep. Uncommon. Outside the status quo. A high standard. Impossible. But God wants me to be Holy. God wants us to be holy. Yes, I asked myself the same question, can it be done? But I’m just a human being, prone to mistakes and failures, just like everyone else. Year after year, I tried to be holy but I failed. “It’s just too complicated Dad”, I hopelessly whisphered in dismay. Is it really possible?

“Having therefore these promises, dearly beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, perfecting holiness in the fear of God.” 2 Corinthians 7:1

This was the answer I got, from my Abba this year. DEARLY BELOVED. Flesh. Spirit. Perfection. Fear of God. Faith. Promises. Grace. Mercy. Obedience. These are the right ingredients to Holiness. I have no clear picture how, but I now have a starting point. Not me, but God.

SEEKING GOD. It’s the starting point for everything. The most crucial ingredient for success. I don’t know about you but I noticed that everytime I’m the presence of my Father, everything just seems right, peaceful, comforting, breathtaking, and mind blowing. It’s as if I’m in a different universe, far from sin and temptation. “You see, David, this is the secret to holiness. Always seek God.” [Devotion, 2011]. Minsan, nagtataka lang ako kung bakit ako tinatamad pumunta sa Kanya, magdevotion, at manalangin kung napakasarap at walang kapantay na feeling yung magstay sa Kanya. Have you ever asked that question? haha and so this year, I’ve have purposed in my heart [Daniel 1:8] to seek God with all my heart daily. IF I FAIL TO SEEK HIM TODAY, TODAY IS A FAILURE. PERIOD.

DISCIPLINE. There’s no need to explain this word. This year, I want to develop the character of Discipline. Discipline in my devotion and prayer time, discipline with my eating habits, discipline in the proper use of time, discipline in writing for God, discipline in obeying my parents. Discipline in obeying what God’s will for me this year is. Discipline in everything. Hirap haha pero kaya! It all starts in the heart. It starts with God.

I want to do a lot of things this year. In fact, I am confused on where to start that I haven’t started at all! -.-” [toinks] waaaaaahhhhhh The past month has been a test month for me. God knows I have failed in a [super] lot of ways during the past month, but there’s eleven months more to show my Father that I can be faithful too, not in the plans I have for myself, but for the purposes He has for me this year. Not by my fragile strength, but by the grace of God and though the Holy Spirit. HOLINESS, SEEKING GOD, DISCIPLINE. I must start with God.

“DAD, give me an Enoch kind of heart this year! Amen”

What's on your mind?

