Evasion or Encounter?


549573_10151373704137907_442262122_nWhy did You make man forgetful Abba? Why do we have a brain that cannot function to the maximum of its potential? Or at least up to 50%? Why can’t we retain everything? Why do we forget the things You’ve done in the past? Even as short as this last minute? Why can’t we identify that the things we are experencing in this current breath, right at this very moment is something You’ve done before? Why do we forget the pattern of faithfulness that You’ve always shown? Why can’t we walk on the future promises we’ve made before You? And why do we forget Your promises? Abba, why do we forget?

Do we really forget? Is it really about forgetting? Or is it about losing focus? Could it be that we get overly distracted by the things around us? Could it be that we are being pulled in every direction, by every distraction, almost every time, almost everywhere, and we choose not to make the decision to look on You? What does our decision have to do with this Abba? Do we really make the choices? Why do I feel that almost everything we do is from impulse, brought about by every bit of experience, training, molding we’ve been through in life? Is it really? Or do we just lack the necessary pause to ask You and think things through and thoroughly?

Do I really forget? Or am I just losing the battle for my attention? Where is my attention? If You walk we me, physically, every day, like right beside me or in front of me, would I ever be distracted? Would I ever forget? Will I ever lose focus? Won’t You be the only Person that has my attention? Wouldn’t my eyes be fixed on You alone? Will I put anything or anyone beforeYou? Could it be that the issue is really about blindness? Am I blind Abba?

Do I really forget? Or am I just losing the battle of my perception? If I hear Your voice, Your instructions, Your rebukes, Your promises, every single moment, like that of a Shepherd, would I really forget You? Aren’t You the Shepherd of my life? Wouldn’t I love Your voice? Wouldn’t I follow Your Voice? Wouldn’t I give up everything to stay hearing? Could it be that the issue is not being forgetful, but deafness? Could it be that my selfishness and pride has blocked the ears that You’ve provided for me to remember?

Is it really forgetting or has that been an excuse all along? Could it be that the issue is not my imperfections but instead it has been all about attention, decision, perception, hearing, seeing, focusing? Could it be that instead of seeking, I’ve been evading? Could it be that what is lacking for me to be renewed and live like Jesus did is the lack of minute-by-minute ENCOUNTER with you? https://i0.wp.com/www.godisreal.today/wp-content/uploads/2013/12/jesus-christ-salvation.jpg

“One thing I ask from the Lord,
this only do I seek:
that I may dwell in the house of the Lord
all the days of my life,
to gaze on the beauty of the Lord
and to seek him in his temple.”
Psalm 27:4

One thought on “Evasion or Encounter?

What's on your mind?

